Abortion

WARNING: If you are deeply offended by pro-life and pro-God stances, considering them to be judgmental and uncaring, then you won’t like the following articles. If you have had an abortion and disturbing descriptions by medical workers involved in the procedures will cause you considerable mental anguish, then please consider whether or not you should read the accounts of two medical professionals who give their story. They don’t hold anything back. For those on the extreme, this is a black and white issue, but for many of you, it’s not so easily settled. Most of us understand there are good points and well-meaning people on either side. So I’m not posting this to condemn, but to bring to light the ugliness of abortion and the seriousness of the issue. This should not be a procedure driven by a profit motive, or a political one. Instead, the ramifications of abortion, as well as its morality, should be thoughtfully and seriously weighed by Democrats, Republicans, and normal people. Sin can be forgiven, but we rarely turn from sin until it comes into the light where everyone can see it in all of its horrible, ugly detail, and we can see it for what it is. Abortion, Responsibility, and Love for others etc… will be a few of those things for which we must all answer to God.

Here’s a brief outline of God’s views that relate to abortion:

    GOD GIVES LIFE
    The LORD God formed the man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being (Genesis 2:7).

    You gave me life and showed me kindness, and in your providence watched over my spirit (Job 10:12).

    Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture (Psalm 100:3).

    GOD KNEW US BEFORE BIRTH
    Did not he who made me in the womb make them? Did not the same one form us both within our mothers? (Job 31:15).

    Yet you brought me out of the womb; you made me trust in you even at my mother’s breast. From birth I was cast upon you; from my mother’s womb you have been my God (Psalm 22:9-10).

    For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be (Psalm 139:13-16).

    This is what the LORD says—he who made you, who formed you in the womb, and who will help you…(Isaiah 44:2).

    Listen to me, O house of Jacob, all you who remain of the house of Israel, you whom I have upheld since you were conceived, and have carried since your birth. Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you (Isaiah 46:3-4).

    And now the LORD says—he who formed me in the womb to be his servant to bring Jacob back to him and gather Israel to himself, for I am honored in the eyes of the LORD and my God has been my strength (Isaiah 49:5).

    The word of the LORD came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations” (Jeremiah 1:4-5).

    When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy” (Luke 1:41-42, 44).

    He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world (Ephesians 1:4)

    GOD HONORS THOSE WHO STAND UP FOR THOSE WHO CANNOT STAND FOR THEMSELVES
    Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless; maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed. Rescue the weak and needy; deliver them from the hand of the wicked (Psalm 82:3-4).

    Rescue those being led away to death; hold back those staggering toward slaughter. If you say, “But we knew nothing about this,” does not he who weighs the heart perceive it? Does not he who guards your life know it? Will he not repay each person according to what he has done? (Proverbs 24:11-12).

    So you shall put away the guilt of innocent blood from among you when you do what is right in the sight of the LORD. (Deuteronomy 21:9)

    GOD WILL FORGIVE OUR SINS
    If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives. My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One (1 John 1:9-2:1).

The following article appeared today on Foxnews.Com

A mother who decided to abort her son because he may have inherited a life-threatening kidney condition is overjoyed that he survived the procedure.

Jodie Percival of Nottinghamshire, England, said she and her fiancee made the decision to abort baby Finley when she was eight weeks pregnant.

Percival’s first son Thane died of multicystic dysplastic kidneys — which causes cysts to grow on the kidneys of an unborn baby — and her second child Lewis was born with serious kidney damage and currently has just one kidney, the Daily Mail reported.

“I was on the (birth control pill) when I became pregnant,” Percival, 25, said. “Deciding to terminate at eight weeks was just utterly horrible but I couldn’t cope with the anguish of losing another baby.”

A short time after the abortion, Percival felt a fluttering in her stomach. She went to the doctor for a scan and discovered she was 19 weeks pregnant.

“I couldn’t believe it,’ Percival said. “This was the baby I thought I’d terminated. At first I was angry that this was happening to us, that the procedure had failed. I wrote to the hospital, I couldn’t believe that they had let me down like this.

“They wrote back and apologized and said it was very rare,” she added.

Dr. Manny Alvarez, managing health editor for FOXNews.com, said Percival’s situation is actually quite common.

“Women that have early terminations in weeks six, seven and eight, many times the pregnancy is so small that doctors miss removing the baby,” Alvarez said. “The danger is that the failed attempt can damage the baby. That is why these patients who get early terminations need follow-ups.”

Another scan a week later confirmed the baby also had kidney problems, but doctors told the couple the baby was likely to survive, so they decided he deserved another chance at life.

In November, Finley was born three weeks premature. He had minor kidney damage but is expected to lead a normal life.

She couldn’t stand to see another child suffer and die so she had an abortion. Truth is, I can see that, even if I don’t agree with it. Unfortunately, it also highlights the problem:

We don’t want to look at abortion, and we don’t have to. Thus, she didn’t have to “see” her child die during an abortion. There’s a disconnect.

WARNING: The following accounts from 2 medical professionals do “look” at abortion graphically. Read at your own risk. These are their perspectives colored by their own views. I’m sure there would be others who paint it in glorious descriptions, and yes, both of these two are now believers. So with all the biases admitted to, here’s what happens as described by these two:

From LastdaysMinistries…

Former Clinic Administrator Speaks Out
Abortion ClinicsThe following are portions of an interview with a woman who used to work at an abortion clinic. Her story is a look into another world where abuse has become an industry, and extermination a daily routine.

Q: What were your duties at the clinic?

A: I was hired as a medical assistant to help the doctor with procedures in the operating room. From there I was promoted through a number of jobs and finally to administrator of the clinic.

Q: What’s a typical visit to an abortion clinic like?

A: When a girl called to make her appointment, we’d work her in as soon as possible. If she called on Tuesday, we’d have her in no later than Friday. We wanted to avoid a long waiting period where she’d have time to think about it. First she would fill out her forms, and then talk with a counselor.

Q: Did any women ever decide not to have the abortion as a result of the counseling?

A: At the most, ten patients a month out of 300 to 450.

Q: Do you feel the “counseling” was meant to benefit the patient or the clinic?

A: The counselors were trained in what areas to cover and which to avoid. They’d say, “I know this is a terrible situation you’re in. What can we do to help make this better for you? Yeah, it doesn’t sound like you’re ready for a pregnancy right now.” Their task was to keep the machinery moving – to get the woman into the procedure room as quickly as possible.

Q: What happened next?

A: After the lab work was done and the pre-op medications were given, she’d be ready for the
procedure. If she’s eight to ten weeks pregnant, the abortion takes only five to seven minutes.

Q: Would she be awake?

A: Yes. She’s given a local anesthetic in her cervix.

Q: What type of abortion would be performed?

A: Vacuum aspirations. The doctor used a machine to suck out the contents of the uterus. The farther along the woman is in her pregnancy, the larger and more developed the baby. Sometimes what happens is the tube isn’t wide enough for the material to pass through. Then the doctor would insert forceps into the uterus and actually pull out the larger parts.

Q: So you saw the doctor put in forceps and pull out a leg?

A: Right

Q: Or a head? An arm?

A: Yes The first time I saw it, I couldn’t believe my eyes.

Q:Were you prepared for it?

A: No This particular pregnancy was farther along than 12 weeks The doctor was pulling out arms and legs and all kinds of things. And the procedure took about 45 minutes. The woman was in extreme pain and very upset. I freaked out and left the room. I was getting faint, so I sat down and put my head between my legs, trying to get myself together.

All the nurses gathered around, telling me, “Don’t think about it. Don’t worry about it. It’s not that bad. 0Think of this poor woman if she had to keep this baby. Look at how we’re helping her.” The doctor came out and said, “You did a good job. You’re going to be a fine assistant.” That’s the day I closed my eyes to what was going on around me.

Q: Do the mothers ever see what you saw?

A: Oh, no. The biggest thing they want to do is hide all that from the mother. If she knew then she might say “no.”

Q: What happened to you after that day?

A:Iblocked out the reality of what I’d become a party to. You don’t allow yourself to deal with the fact that there’s a living human being growing in that woman’s uterus… and you re killing it.

Q: So you came to believe what you were doing was wrong?

A: Absolutely. I can tell you from my own experience, that baby is full-fledged human at the very beginning.

Q: Is the “abortion industry” really as diabolical as it seems?

A: The medical profession has attempted to sterilize the whole issue. To reduce it to just another procedure. They’ve convinced themselves that it’s just a blob without life – “a product of conception.” The baby comes out in chunks, totally mutilated, and they point to that and say, “It’s only a hunk of tissue.” Anybody who can see straight can recognize how desperately wicked it really is.

Q: . Then why do doctors get involved with abortions?

A: Money

Q: . What would you say to the woman who’s facing an unwanted pregnancy?

A: I understand your desperation, but you can find help. It’s out there. The price you pay for an abortion is far greater than the cold cash you have to lay down on the table at that abortion clinic. Get all the information before you make your decision – and I pray God will give you the strength to choose life.

Registered Nurse Recalls Her Experience
In early 1979, a young woman took a nursing job. This particular doctor specialized in obstetrics, the care of women during pregnancy and childbirth. Even though she did not yet know the Lord, she was shocked to find that the office was more of an abortion clinic than anything else. Now that she knows the truth of Jesus Christ she is willing to talk about her nightmare experience, hoping it will affect others to take action. She tells her story with tears in her eyes.

When I was interviewed the doctor asked me if I had anything against abortions. I told him that I had never dealt with them and didn’t know very much about them. He said, “Well, you won’t have to work with them very much. We only do a few of them.” I had no idea just how many he was really doing and just how involved I was going to have to get.

The second week I was there, a 17-year-old girl came in for her third abortion. She was using it for birth control. I asked her, “How come you don’t use something else?” She said she didn’t like the other forms of birth control. She thought this was so convenient and it was free. Medicaid paid for it. She didn’t have to pay one penny. Nobody else said anything to her. They didn’t try to convince her to change her mind. She was on Medicaid and it was all getting paid for. It was at that point I realized just what was really going on.

There was a public health center in a town not far from Denver and they sent a lot of girls to us. They told us they did all the counseling. We weren’t allowed to counsel them or even ask them about birth control. We couldn’t even tell them what could happen during the abortion. Nothing. If we tried to discuss alternatives, we would get in trouble with the doctor because then the health center would threaten to send their business elsewhere. All we did was find out how far along they were, tell them when they were going to be finished, get their money, do the abortion, and send them home.

One-half to two-thirds of this doctor’s practice ended up being abortions. We did several kinds there. We used suction up until 12 to 14 weeks. That’s just a big metal suction apparatus that’s inserted into the uterus and poked around until the fetus is all sucked out. After about 12 weeks the fetus would be too big. That’s when it got really messy.

In another type, we would dilate the cervix as big as we needed to, then go in with something like spaghetti tongs with an open spoon at one end. They would just grab parts of the baby and pull them off. The baby would bleed to death. They would get an arm or a leg and the nurse would have to count everything that came out to make sure they got it all. It was horrible.

We could do abortions in the office up to 16 weeks along, and we could do them in the hospital up to 22 weeks. But the doctor had his own sonogram machine, and if a baby was over 22 weeks he would just write down 22 weeks and do the abortion anyway. If we got a “screamer” in the office the doctor would just go nuts. He’d say, “Get her out of here. Get her in the back room.” That’s why we seldom did abortions in the middle of office hours. We did them before office hours, during lunch, or after hours because he didn’t want his obstetric patients to know.

I took care of a lot of the obstetric patients because he just didn’t want to deal with them. He could get more money in 10 minutes from one abortion than from a nine-month pregnancy. We did upwards of two dozen abortions a day.

I remember one time we did a girl that was 12 weeks along, and as little as that baby was, you could see on the sonogram it was sucking its thumb. Twenty minutes later it was in a bottle of formaldehyde all sucked up. We showed the girl the picture and we all laughed. We all got a kick out of it.

Right before I was born again, in August of 1979, we got a lady in that was 18 weeks along. We saved her until the very end of the day because she was so big. We knew she would bleed a lot and holler a lot – that it would just be a big mess and take a lot of time and effort. So, I had to go in and help one of the doctors, Lanny. Sometimes you have to hold the top of the uterus so the doctor can know that he’s getting to the back and getting it all. I could feel him in there scraping and pulling. She was bleeding and hollering… and arms were coming out, then the head. It was just horrible.

There was an LPN working with me that Saturday and we were trying to get the mess cleaned up. There was a big bucket at the end of the table to catch stuff. We had to take all the contents of that bucket, the fetus, and put it in formaldehyde. We couldn’t find a jar big enough so we ended up having to put it in different jars and label it. The LPN ended up going into the bathroom and vomiting. I was standing there at the sink crying my heart out. I said, “Lanny, my God, are we going to hell?” He was standing there sweating and shaking and said, “Well, if we are, honey, I’ll be there first waiting on you.”

Right after that, the next day, I went to a church in Denver and two weeks later I gave my life to the Lord. I quit the doctor’s office and went to work at the hospital next door. They did saline abortions but I refused to have anything to do with them. The Lord delivered me from it completely..

Right now there are people trying to decide when life begins. Abortion is destroying life – therefore it has to be murder. As long as the baby remains in the uterus it will be nourished. It will grow and be delivered at term. If you disrupt that in any way, knowingly and intentionally, you are killing a life.

1/30/2007

2 thoughts on “Abortion

  1. I thought you might appreciate this. I wrote it in 2005 and have shared it with the congregation at my church and in fact, a couple of blogs on WordPress.

    THE BIRTHDAY

    It’s May 9, 2005. Yesterday was Mother’s Day. My birthday is going to be today. I just know it is. Mama took me to the doctor’s office the other day and I heard the doctor say he’d do the procedure on Monday, May 9th. I didn’t hear him say his name, sometimes it’s kind of muffled here in the womb. I did hear Mama say that the name of the place we were was called the “Women’s Clinic.” It must be a nice place because they take care of women and their babies. I wonder why the doctor called it “the procedure,” though. I thought it was called “being born.”

    My angel came and visited me yesterday. He said that it wouldn’t be long before I would be leaving here. He said that after the procedure, I would be going to the most beautiful place that anybody could ever imagine. He said that I would be surrounded by total love and indescribable happiness. I didn’t know that the world was really that beautiful. I’ve been able to hear and understand things for awhile now and some of the things I’ve heard make me think the world is not all that nice of a place.

    I sure will be glad to get out of here. Mama takes drugs and drinks something called alcohol. It makes me feel sick. When I get big enough to talk, I’m gonna tell her that Jesus doesn’t like it when she takes drugs. She must not know that he died on the cross for her and he gets very sad when she does things like that. It makes me sad too. At night, when Mama is “partying” I hear a lot of men’s voices. I wonder if one of them is my Daddy. They’re not very nice. They do things to Mama that I don’t understand.

    I’m skinny. I think I should be fatter. Mama doesn’t eat much. She says that when she’s high, she just doesn’t have any appetite. When I get out of here, I’m going to eat at my Father’s Table. I’m going to eat so much that I’ll be full for a week! I don’t know who he is, but my angel does. He’s the one that told me that. My angel holds my hand. Sometimes, like yesterday, his eyes are sad. Why? How can he be sad? I’m about to start on a wonderful adventure! I want to grow up and help people. Someday, maybe I’ll be a doctor too!

    Mama’s getting in the car now. I guess we’re going to the Women’s Clinic so I can be born. I’m so excited! I wonder what she looks like. Can she possibly love me as much as I love her? I can’t wait to put my arms around you Mama, and lay my head on your shoulder. I’m looking forward so much to having you teach me to brush my hair. To read the Bible, bake cookies and cherry pies. I’m gonna get you to show me how to put on make up and we can both wear yellow dresses with big brightly colored bows. I bet I’m gonna look like you, Mama. Maybe people will think I’m your sister instead of your daughter. Won’t that be funny?

    Be careful driving Mama! Are you wearing your seat belt? I don’t want anything to happen to you, especially on my birthday. I love you, Mama! I’ll be coming out to meet you soon! I’m gonna take such good care of you Mama. I won’t let anybody hurt you like I hear them doing from here inside you. Me and my angel will protect you. I’ve got so much to tell you! When I can talk, I’m gonna tell you about Jesus! He loves you, Mama! He loves you so much! He loves you even more than I do. That’s hard for me to understand, but that’s what my angel tells me.

    Well, we’re here. Mama’s parking the car. Why don’t we get out, Mama? You’re just sitting there behind the wheel feeling kind of low. It’s my birthday, Mama! What are you going to name me? Did you bring my car seat? Where’s our relatives? Where’s Ma-maw and Pa-paw? Where’s daddy? Who is daddy? Does he love me too?

    Here we go! We’re out of the car, and we’re walking up the steps to the Women’s Clinic.

    Wait a minute, Mama! All of a sudden, I’m scared. I don’t know why, but I’m scared! Get back in the car, Mama! Get back in the car! We’ve got to get out of here! I feel angels! Bad angels. Not like my angel. These are demon angels, Mama. I think they want to hurt us. Please Mama! Get back in the car. Quick! We can go someplace else. Take us to a church. Jesus will be there. He lives there. He’ll help us Mama. He loves us.

    Mama, No! Don’t let them take you into the procedure room! Let’s leave, let’s go home. I love you, Mama. Why are we lying on this table? Where are your clothes? What’s that man doing? Why is he putting on gloves? Is he the doctor? He’s supposed to take care of us. I can see his soul. I’m scared of it, Mama! It’s laughing at us and he smells like fire and burning flesh. He doesn’t love us, Mama. Please help me.

    What’s that noise? What’s that metal thing he has in his hand? Make him go away, Mama, Make him leave us alone! Where’s my angel? Help! Mama! Help! Oh Mama, he jabbed me with that metal thing, it hurts, help me, Mama, help———————–

  2. That’s the problem with sin, when you look at it close, it makes us all look like horrible human beings. As John Newton wrote: “Amazing grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me…” Good thing no matter how wretched any of us have become, God still extends his grace for everyone who turns to Him.

Leave a Reply

