Animal Crackers, Dramas, and Stuff

My spine hurts.

Last night I’m playing the Devil and the guy playing Jesus is supposed to beat the snot out of me at the end of this play… including throwing me into “hell” where I land on a mattress hopefully.

He did, and I did.

So the pain this morning from my jarring landing -mattress or no, landing on your shoulder after hurtling through a substantial amount of air is jarring- is a good pain. It was a good night. A fun one. A meaningful one.

You get to be a part of some memorable things in church these days. I talked to a music store owner this morning about a headset microphone (I need to replace the one that got damaged last night) and he said “People ask me, ‘how do you guys survive in such a small town?’ and I tell them we do a lot of business with churches.” He’s right. The 1800’s when necessary oratory skills for preachers included a voice big enough to fill an auditorium without any electronic help, are no more. These days churches use all sorts of music, sound and video equipment, plus many churches have full-fledged bands.

And some of us play the Devil in 90-minute productions, including special effects, video, music and 40 cast and crew members…

Ow… another pain….

Oh, it’s not quite Hollywood quality, but we try and it’s fun. And out of His great mercy, God uses our little efforts at things like these.

Last night, we had an altar call where we asked people to put their faith in Christ, or rededicate themselves to Him again. It’s easy sometimes to get people to make a decision like that after a drama which has stirred their heart and emotions to a great degree. And this particular drama is very intense. Far too often, people don’t follow through on decisions made based on the emotion of the moment, so last night we tried something different.

We didn’t lead anyone in a “sinner’s prayer,” (we don’t use a “sinner’s prayer anyway) or baptize them on the spot, or pressure them in some way. We took the people who stepped out to make a decision for Christ and prayed for them. We also gave them a Bible and some written information detailing what the Bible says about getting right with God. And finally, they filled out a card so someone will follow up later -after their emotions are back to normal levels. In this way, we hope they make a real decision, not just an emotional one.

As for me… I’m just in the process of healing and eating animal crackers at the moment. Pretty soon, I have to walk through the set, making sure everything is ready to go for night number 2. In four hours, I’ll be putting on a bunch of make-up again. In five hours, I’ll be sound checking through the voice changer… Such a cool device…

I’m also heading out in a few minutes to help a guy get his utility bill paid. Dramas at night are fun, but we’re still doing ministry during the day.

In fact, I’ll bet God rewards people more for the work they did which most people never noticed, than the reward He gives for standing on a stage.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
-Matthew 25:34-36

Something to think about.

One thought on “Animal Crackers, Dramas, and Stuff

  1. That play was so fun. (:
    The entire youth group (or at least those involved)
    enjoyed it a lot.

    I never got a chance to thank you by the way-
    for rededicating my life.

    Thank You.
    Gabby

Leave a Reply

